Review: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Image

Okay, so it’s been a while. But I’ve been a bit busy with Uni work and working, and haven’t actually had any time to watch any films other than the ones that are a part of my degree. But after handing in a ton of work recently, me and my housemate decided it was time to take a trip to the cinema, and watch a film we didn’t have to think about too much, so we picked The Grand Budapest Hotel. 

First off, I went into this film knowing pretty much nothing about it. I knew that it had an ‘all star cast’ and that it was a comedy, but other than that, not a clue. It’s directed by Wes Anderson, and this was the first time I’d seen one of his films (and it won’t be the last!). 

Having gone into the screening not knowing anything, I was pretty surprised. The film made me properly belly laugh/almost-spluttered-my-water-into-the-head-of-the-guy-infront. It was surprisingly hilarious, but the kind of funny you don’t expect. I love comedies that don’t rely on slapstick and instead focus on clever writing and flawless delivery, The Grand Budapest Hotel did just that. 

Ralph Fiennes steals the show with an absolutely amazing performance of M. Gustave, the slightly eccentric but legendary concierge at the hotel. The story is a little bit silly, but doesn’t seem so when you’re watching the film. It’s only after talking about it that you realise how random it really is, but that shouldn’t put you off.  

Image

As a film student though, I have to mention the cinematography. Oh, my wow. It’s stunning. It’s such a stylistically pleasing film, most of the shots are framed centrally, with the characters sitting in the middle, and a lot of ‘to camera’ acting is done here, which I found to be really effective as an audience member. It made it really engaging, and was a bit different to anything I’ve watched recently. The other shots of the hotel itself in it’s ‘hay day’ are just amazing. I desperately wish it was real because I want to go there! The colours are so vibrant and vivid, its stunning. 

So, overall, I would say go to see this film if you’re looking for something a bit different, and maybe a little bit quirky. Its a film to be appreciated, particularly the cinematography. But the acting is incredible, and it is a genuinely hilarious film, so if your just looking for a few hours of escapism, then this is your film! 

2 thoughts on “Review: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Leave a comment