5 Things I’ve Learnt Since Getting Engaged

Being engaged is a pretty wonderful feeling and a super exciting time. You feel all excited and bubbly and it’s pretty impossible to wipe away the big fat stupid grin that sits on your face afterwards. If you’re married or engaged you’ll know what I mean, but I thought I’d kick of my first wedding related post with what I’ve learnt in the last 7 or so months since becoming engaged.

1) “That’s lovely…have you set a date?”
It is no exaggeration when I say in the first 48 hours of being engaged the amount of people that asked us if we had set a date yet was unreal. If you already have an idea of when you want to get married, great! But if not, then maybe prepare yourselves for the attack of the same question. (This question also never really goes away as anytime anyone brings up the subject of weddings, me and my fiancé (still feels fancy) still get asked)

2) You start putting a price on everything
Weddings are expensive, there is no denying that. But after the excitement of getting engaged you start thinking about money and how much everything costs, and now I keep looking at stuff and thinking, “Yes, I would like to buy you, however you are also the cost of half a bridesmaid dress and so, I won’t be buying you.” In some ways this is good, as saving for weddings is good, in other ways…it’s not, and will take some getting used to, but will be worth it in the end!

3) Your ring might not fit, and that’s okay
Okay, it’s happened, you’ve gotten engaged! Woohoo! They slide the ring onto your finger and as you look at it in all its engaged shininess you realise…it’s too big. But that’s okay. We had to wait six weeks for the ring to come back as it had to be remade, and as an engagement party loomed over us and we wanted it before that. But as it was beautifully put to me, I put it to you, ‘six weeks is not long, when you wear the ring for the rest of your life’. That pretty much put it into perspective for me, even though I was desperate to wear it. And then when we got the ring back properly, it made it all extra exciting again, and I felt newly engaged again! We also got the ring in time, the Tuesday before the engagement party which was on the Saturday.

4) There will be tears, and smiles
I cried when I got proposed to, I cried when I told my mum, my dad, my sister. When I told my friends, when I went into work and was met with balloons and cards and hugs. I cried at the kindness of friends and the excitement of family. I cried at the engagement cake my Aunty made for us. There were many tears and I can only say that there will be more. Carry tissues at all time. But, for a good month after, I couldn’t take the smile from my face. I was constantly grinning like a cheshire cat. What am I chatting, I’m still grinning like a cheshire cat!

5) It’s the best feeling in the world
Knowing that your other half has gone through all of this to do something this amazing and thoughtful is such an amazing feeling. I also felt so flattered that even though we had talked about getting married and being together forever, it was actually happening and that the guy in front of me had chosen me and was asking me to be his forever. That is one of the most amazing feelings that I will never forget! It was also amazing to find out how much effort my other half had gone through, and how involved my family (particularly my sister) were and I had absolutely no idea about it, so it was the biggest and nicest surprise knowing they all knew it was going to happen. And I get to relive the feeling every time someone asks me to tell them how it happened.

Have you guys had any similar experiences or other things you’ve learnt since popping/being asked the big question? Let me know! 🙂

Leave a comment