Review: The Amazing Spider-Man 2

The-Amazing-Spider-Man-2-New-Poster-spider-man-35222096-1024-1421

Okay, so I’m probably the worst film fan ever. I don’t really find out about new films coming out until a week before, and the trailers that I sit and watch on YouTube end up being for films that are already out on DVD. Saying that though, I do try and keep up to date with whats on at the cinema. However, in this case (and the case of The Fault in Our Stars…..20th of June people!) I knew about Spider-Man. This is partly because I love the first film, but also partly because I am in love with Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield. So, for the first time in my life, I actually saw a film the day it came out!

I have a sort of love/hate relationships with Super Hero films, and I’m a bit picky about the ones that I watch, but I do love me some Spider-Man (the new ones though, not the Toby McGuire ones, but that’s for another day…) I love Andrew Garfield’s portrayal of the superhero, and I love the mix of teenage high school boyish comedy mixed with the seriousness and responsibility of Spider-Man. So my expectations were high, but I feel that the film absolutely delivered.

It’s directed again by Marc Webb, who also directed one of my favourite films, (500) Days of Summer, which I think helps with the relationship between Peter and Gwen as well as the comedic elements throughout the film. I also felt like this time there was more character development between the two of them. The film both starts as they are graduating from high school, and by the end, particularly Peter’s character has come on more of a journey I think than the last one.

The film also briefly touches upon the ‘super-hero debate’ that occurs so regularly in these films, which did grate on me a little bit. It wasn’t really something that was explored massively in the film, so fell a bit short, but there wasn’t really any need for it to become a huge plot line. There is a round of news reports that focus on the idea that Spider-Man is just a menace, not really helping New York, needs to butt out of everyones business, you know the kind of the story right? I just found it a bit irritating, but it is kind of necessary to give the film more of a political grounding maybe?

One of the things that I love most about Webb’s Spider-Man films is the cinematography, its absolutely stunning, and the second film is no exception. The film utilises the use of slow-mo perfectly to convey Spider-Man’s ‘spidey sense’ which makes for some absolutely incredible scenes, particularly one in time square (you’ll know what I mean when you see it if you haven’t already). I also enjoy watching Spider-Man fly through New York, and the shots from his point of view are just amazing. I literally can’t fault them, and enjoying waiting to see where the next ones are coming from.

Another thing that I enjoyed about the film was the villains. I find sometimes some villains can be a bit far fetched, like Loki in the Avengers. But Electro in this film is absolutely terrifying. The villains motives are very human, and their evil comes from pure human emotion, that everyone sort of has inside of them, or has the capability to feel. It’s scary! Of course, like the other villains, Electro is a bit of an accident, but I won’t tell you why, you’ll have to go watch it! But the evil that forms from this accident is just unreal. Once Jamie Foxx is unchained, he makes for a very convincing and scary  villain.

the_amazing_spider_man_2_movie_stills-1600x900

The film also nicely ties up some stuff about Peter’s family which is also good. It might be worth watching the first one a few days or so before you go to see the second, I wish I had, just because the film pretty much picks up right from where the other left, so it would have been good to be in the same mind set. It might also be worth taking some tissues with you, because not only is this film visually stunning, but the acting is incredible, and I found myself crying about three or four times throughout the film. I don’t think you really expect overly moving performances in a super-hero film, so it was a bit of a shock to me and my tear ducts!

Overall, I would say this film is a must see, particularly if you are a fan of the first Spider-Man film. It’s definitely getting pre-ordered by me when it comes out on DVD, and I’m very tempted to go see it again at the cinema.

What did you think of The Amazing Spider-Man 2? Let me know!

Leave a comment